I’m taking the plunge…

flute3

I’m doing the unthinkable; I’m going to attempt to play the flute again. I don’t know what came over me, but I was like “it’s time” because I am always looking for more things to do during the day….um no…that’s not it. I think I might be just plain crazy, but nevertheless (is that a word??), I am going to attempt this challenge. And let me tell you, if I am able to do this, regardless if I fail or just sound like a dying cat, you can do this! Don’t worry, I will walk you through the process. I took some pictures. Definitely not a fan of having my picture taken, but when in doubt, make everything black and white.

Here is my lovely used flute that I am renting from The Master Musician. If I get really good (Ha Ha!) I will invest in a flute of my own. I also have a Rubank Elementary Method Flute book…the easier the better, right? And a flute care kit that includes a whole bunch of fun stuff like grease, thumb pads, cleaning cloth for the inside of the flute, and a cloth to keep the outside nice and shiny. It also has an instruction guide of how to take care of my instrument. Like, don’t eat food and chew gum while playing…ewwww. I’ve heard horror stories of the gross and strange things that are found inside instruments.

flute1flute2

The lovely Rebecca Schumacher, who is the Band Booster president for Murrieta Mesa High School and who also works here at The Master Musician, was kind enough to give me my first flute lesson! Look at how happy we are! Rebecca can make anyone laugh! Such a joy to be around!

flute9

And now, my face says it all…”that’s a flute and I have to do what again?”  She showed me how to put the flute together properly and where my hands should be positioned.

flute8flute7

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had a hard time making a sound so she had me do this. I need to get my embouchure (which is a fancy word for mouth) in playing condition. After I put the flute back together, I made a G, F, and A sound. Not too shabby for this Mama!

flute6

What a great start to my flute playing journey! A few notes came out and I am ready to make music! The best part was at the end of my lesson when my husband Marc, you know the one who plays the piano by ear and is just brilliant in my eyes, told me that I was cute playing the flute. Hey that rhymes!

flute4

Ok, so now you know how musically illiterate I am, but we all have to start somewhere! Tell me about you. What instrument do you play, if any?

3 thoughts on “I’m taking the plunge…

  1. Pingback: Talent vs. Practice: This is a must read for everyone! | MasterMusicianBlog

Leave a Reply

