Talent vs. Practice: This is a must read for everyone!

I came across this article recently and LOVED it so much that I knew I had to share it with you!  It has HUGE insight. Parents, teachers, band directors, students…everyone should read it. Here’s an excerpt that I hope will make you curious:

Carol Dweck, a psychologist at Stanford, is famous for coining what she calls the “growth mindset.” Those with a growth mindset are willing to learn, make mistakes and stretch themselves over and over again.

On the opposite end are those with a “fixed mindset.” These are the ones who say, “I’m not good at math.” They pigeon-hole themselves into a series of cans and cannots. By so doing, they limit, or “fix” their own capabilities.

~Tiffany Gee Lewis

You can read the full article here!

My thoughts: As many of you know, I am musically challenged. (If this is your first time on the blog get to know me here.) I was one of those born without the music gene. I wasn’t interested in playing music or reading music and having an “ear for music” was definitely not me. However, this article confirms to me that there is hope. The hope is in the fact that if I take lessons, learn to read music, and practice, practice, practice, that I can play the flute. Hard work will pay off. Check out my first flute lesson here.

I will admit… I have not been practicing my flute. Shame on me, I know. Of course, I was busy having my seventh sweet child and homeschooling (bet you didn’t know that) and being a housewife, but that doesn’t make up for the past 8 months of no practice. If you (or me) do not practice and take the time to invest in music education than we will not grow musically.

BUT if we do make time for music in our life or our children’s lives, than the possibilities are endless! We need the mindset that playing music can be fun and the process of learning has a pay off. No more “I can’t” or “I don’t have the time” or “I don’t have the music gene”. Be encouraged! Your kids can be musicians. They might need to learn discipline to practice and the money that you are paying for lessons might mean you have to sacrifice in other areas, but it is all worth it. Hey mom, dad, grandma, grandpa…I’m talking to you too! Make time for your interest in music. Rent an instrument, take lessons, maybe even just go to a music event. You are talented when you want to learn and never give up!

If you still haven’t read the article, click here! Tell me what you think about this. Can someone with seemingly no musical talent play an instrument?

~Kelly

Leave a Reply

